Thanksgiving Options

Thanksgiving Rio de Janeiro 2011

Thanksgiving Rio de Janeiro 2011

Thanksgiving Calvary International Church 2012

Thanksgiving Calvary International Church 2012

Thanksgiving Calvary Church 2012

Thanksgiving Calvary International Church 2012

For the past two years my husband and I have managed to celebrate Thanksgiving  successfully in Brazil. Two years ago when my husband was living in Rio de Janeiro we went to Thanksgiving dinner at Gringo Cafe which is a cool cafe that serves American style food. Last year we attended Thanksgiving dinner at our church (Calvary International Church) but this year it is not an option because the dinner is for adults only (and we now have a baby).

So this year I find myself struggling to figure out Thanksgiving dinner when for the past two years it has just worked itself out. I’m not saying we don’t have options because we do, but none of them seem the right fit.

One option is The American Society of Sao Paulo’s Thanksgiving service. The problem with this one is that it’s a church we don’t attend (Fellowship church) and it is not a Thanksgiving dinner but instead turkey sandwiches and accompaniments. Not too appealing. The second option also put on by The American Society is at BOS BBQ in Sao Paulo, it is the whole nine yards: turkey and gravy, mashed potatoes, stuffing and desserts but the problem is that it is R$120 or $50 dollars each. In the past we always paid half that.  The third option is at the Renaissance Hotel in Sao Paulo, it again has a turkey main course and accompaniments but is still R$100 per person for American Society members which is a little expensive for us.

Finally while doing some research for this post, I came across last years advertisement for PJ Clarks Thanksgiving dinner, it is the traditional dinner and the price is right at R$50.00 per person. I think this is a viable option for us.

The only other choice I have is to do like every other American in the United States and make my own Thanksgiving dinner (which I am considering). The only issue I have with this is that there is only three of us (my son included) and it is a lot of work. If I can wrangle up some extra guests I think this may be my choice for this years Thanksgiving dinner.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Options

  1. Hi ALSP,

    I’m a Californian with numerous restaurants and retail shopping centers in the states. I’ve recently been given an opportunity to purchase a group of restaurants in Sao Paulo and, I have to admit, I’m intrigued at the possibilities. Brazil’s booming economy has peaked my interest for not only these existing restaurants, but for developing other retail and dining businesses in the country.

    In the course of my preliminary research, I ran across your blog. I really appreciate your perspective. You do a great job of giving us all an idea of life in Brazil before we’ve even stepped foot in the country! I’d love to learn more about how you see things working in Brazil. I know the bureaucracy can be infuriating, but I’m hoping the upside is worth the frustration.

    If you get a chance, drop me an email and we’ll chat. I can’t promise I’ll be bringing Cheesecake Factory to Sao Paolo, but we may be able to bring you a few familiar brands and perhaps develop a few new ones along the way.

    Thanks.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

