Bringing America to Brazil One Restaurant at a Time

I know I am a little obsessed with blogging about food but I can’t help it; it’s one of my favorite subjects. On a recent trip to Curitiba to visit the in-laws, I noticed a sign while we were driving, it said Cold Stone Creamery. Yes, that’s right, Cold Stone is in Brazil. My husband and I visited the store and as soon as I walked in I knew it to be true because it even smelled the same. We talked to one of the employees briefly and she said that Cold Stone would come to Sao Paulo next semester to the Jardins neighborhood.

Also I read a recent article that said that Red Lobster is coming to Brazil, along with Olive Garden and Longhorn Steakhouses. Here is the link is you don’t believe me;) (http://www.undercurrentnews.com/2013/02/22/darden-to-bring-red-lobster-to-brazil-columbia/#.UXh7OcXciSo) It amazes me that so many American chains are popping up in Brazil. As it is there is already: McDonald’s (of course), Burger King, Subway, Pizza Hut, Domino’s, KFC, Applebees, Outback Steakhouse, Chili’s, and Starbucks. Wendy’s was once here but has since left Brazil. There may be more but these are the ones that I’ve seen.

My husband and I were having a discussion the other day in the car about which restaurants we would want to come to Brazil. We both think Taco Bell should come and we’ve heard rumors but nothing concrete yet. But I also think that The Cheesecake Factory would be a big hit here.

The food at Cheesecake is pretty well rounded and I think Brazilians would like it, but I know they would love the cheesecakes! Brazilians are really into sweets and I have already seen cheesecake in Brazil so it’s not like they aren’t familiar with the concept. Also The Cheesecake Factory could adapt to Brazil similar to what Starbucks did, they could make signature cheesecakes like a Brigadeiro cheesecake or Dolce de Leite cheesecake. Come on all you entrepreneurs out there, this is a great idea and Brazil is a great market right now, bring The Cheesecake Factory to Brazil!

10 thoughts on “Bringing America to Brazil One Restaurant at a Time

  1. The last thing that Brasil needs is more crappy North American Garbage factories! I don’t know how these places got the name restaurants attached to them because they are far from that. Brasil has it’s own great food and doesn’t need North American crap food. The results of the few ‘restaurants’ that are in Brasil are showing already with more and more huge, fat people walking around everyday. Soon it’s going to look like Disney World on July 4th in Brasil. Fat people as far as you can see!
    I say keep out any more new North American restaurants and try as hard as possible to get rid of the ones that are already here.
    Just my opinion.

    • Yes that is just your opinion. I think you have trivialized a complex issue such as obesity in a couple of misinformed and rude sentences. To begin with I am American and I have eaten at almost all of those restaurants mentioned and I have never been fat or obese in my life. Furthermore, I think Brazilian food is wonderful but to be truthful there are a lot of Brazilian foods that are extremely unhealthy. Pastel for example. I think obesity has more to do with culture than food. In the Brazilian culture there is no real “fast food.” Even American fast food chains have had to adapt because Brazilians don’t go to these places on an everyday basis, these restaurants are considered a luxury and are expensive for Brazilian standards. I’m sorry that you dislike North American culture so much but the wonderful thing about Brazilians is that they are a friendly and accepting people..

    • You probably is one more asshole who votes in Dilma and think about american food only as a hot dog and fries. Drop dead. Go to Cuba asshole.

  2. What a rude way to express your opinion, Daniel! As a Brazilian that travels to the us 4 times a year, I can say I totally agree with the author! The American restaurant chains would do great here! The Cheesecake Factory is one of my favorite restaurants in the US (chicken madeira!!), and I never heard any Brazilian complain about its food! I’m pretty sure Daniel has never been to the US, and has a wrong view regarding American food/cuisine. Brazilian food is just as unhealthy as American food, or does he think a nice american barbecue with beer is unhealthier than a feijoada full of Pork’s fat with sugary caipirinhas!? I can’t wait for red lobster and longhorn to open restaurants here, and I really hope any of these restaurants can bring us some good old fashioned cornbread and biscuits!! You have a really nice blog, and it’s great seeing how you react to our culture, and learn more about yours! Thanks for sharing this with us! 🙂 kind regards

  3. Just an FYI, but McDonald’s has been in Sao Paulo forever. There were two on Avenida Paulista in 1990, which I observed on my first trip there. KFC has been in Sao Paulo since 1993. Pizza Hut might have been there then as well. TGI Fridays has been there since around 1997. Honestly, I’m surprised that the American pizza places as well as Starbucks have had any success in Brazil, since Pizza and traditional coffee in Sampa is way better.

  4. I agree with Daniel but with reservations. Not all american fast food restaurants are crappy. I would love to see the Red Lobster with fresh brazilian sea food and the Cheesecake Factory, after all, best cheesecake from the best cheesecake producers. Also, I think what’s the best about american restaurants is the expertise in serving and handling the food and proccess involved. Brazilian food is great, but we have to learn some tricks with you american brothers when it comes to the logistic of things, well I thing you got the idea? Hope so cheers =)

Leave a Reply

