WORD OF THE DAY!

WORD OF THE DAY

Funcionário = Employee

We have a remote to our gate that we use to take our puppy out and one day it stopped working. So I went to the doorman and tried to explain that the remote was not working or functioning properly. I couldn’t remember the word for “functioning” in portuguese (funcionamento). So I threw in the word funcionário which actually means employee in portuguese, needless to say the doorman did not understand what I was talking about.

2 thoughts on “WORD OF THE DAY!

  1. Don’t worry!!! I grew up here…. so Portuguese is my mothertongue… once in a while, though, I’m sure I used correct words and grammar and all that, and people don’t really understand me… =P

Leave a Reply

