Homemade

Did I mention I was pregnant? Well, I am about 5 months now and I guess it is safe to say now that I am pregnant. It was a tough couple of months there, living in a new country and being in my first trimester where smells and certain foods made me sick. But now I am at a good part of my pregnancy where food is really really good! The only problem is that some of the things I crave I can’t find in Brazil. So my solution has been to try to make things from scratch.

Making things from scratch isn’t always possible because you simple can’t find the right ingredients or the ingredients themselves are really expensive. For example, one of my favorite things in the US is coffee creamer, Hazelnut coffee creamer to be exact. And to my surprise there is a recipe for it; it is basically just a combination of milk, cream, sugar and Hazelnut extract. The problem is that Hazelnut extract is expensive and about R$50 for a small bottle. I also really like maccaroni and cheese, but not only is cheese expensive here, I can’t seem to find the right type of cheese and experimenting seems costly. So for now it is milk in my coffee and regular pasta.

On the other hand, cooking from scratch has led me to some of the best recipes I’ve ever tasted! I made chocolate cupcakes the other day with a chocolate butter cream frosting that was so good I couldn’t stop licking the bowl. I also make really good blueberry muffins, waffles, scalloped potatoes, parmesan zucchini, ribs, and the list goes on. Looking for new recipes and new ideas has become a bit of an obsession and even though some recipes don’t work out; I would say about eight out of ten of them do which keeps me really motivated!

We had some friends over the other night and an Argentinean friend who lives in America said, “Cooking in America is so easy.” In so many ways she is right, there are so many prepackaged meals and ingredients at your finger tips it makes it effortless. But one thing I will say about cooking from scratch is that you know what is in your food at all times, there are no preservatives or additives. And living in Brazil you can find some of the best quality meats and produce around so you food tastes incredible!

2 thoughts on “Homemade

  1. hi i like finding other Americans in Brazil, it helps to qualm my anxieties or increase them :). I’m moving there, and want to know if you wouldn’t mind posting some of your prenatal, and birthing experiences such what the doctors are like and the hospital. if you don’t mind of course.

    • Sorry it took me so long to reply, I had been working on an article about pregnancy in Brazil and just today finished it. Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

